Conducting life with one broken arm since a fall on Thanksgiving morning, along with some relationships that are not going “my way,” have seemingly piled up to do battle with my preference for being optimistic.

I hope today I can allow Emily Dickinson’s “Nor Mountain hinder Me” to bring me around this mountain of discouragement. 

The poem’s brevity creates for me a loud meditative silence.  A different response than I have to poems that are implacably thorough about exhuming my wedged in emotions. 

Nor Mountain hinder Me
Nor Sea –
Who’s Baltic
Who’s Cordillera?

The sea. How much more simply can it be said. Yet how enormous its implications of the capacity to overcome resistance.

This downturn in my energy for going about with plans and goals needs the poem’s contradictory suggestion that my push-back will be equal to opposing forces. It states, not the purposes or designs I feel are threatened, but acknowledges the hindrances I must overcome.

Reading it, meditating on it, I feel compelled to evaluate whether the accomplishments I desire can be appeased by less than the ideal. Perhaps this will lead to fruitful assessments of my MO.

But, for now, I am lifted by playfulness in the rhetorical questioning, “Who’s Baltic/Who’s Cordillera?” do “you” think will be deep enough or high enough to stop me?

Just for fun I looked on Wikipedia and found this: The Baltic Sea is a brackish inland sea in Northern Europe, and stretches like a belt between the Scandinavian Peninsula, the mainland of Europe, and the Danish islands.

The Cordillera Blanca (Spanish for “White Range”) is a mountain range in Peru. It is part of the larger Andes range and includes thirty three major peaks over 5,500 metres (18,040 ft) tall in an area 21 kilometres (13 mi) wide and 180 kilometres (112 mi) long. The highest mountain in Peru, Huascarán (6,768 m), is located here.

Huascarán National Park, established in 1975, encompasses almost the entire range of the Cordillera Blanca.

In 1966, the Alpamayo mountain was declared “the most beautiful mountain in the world” by the UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization). Snow melt from the Cordillera Blanca has provided Peru with its year-round water supplies.

Digest A Poem A Day – Accept What Comes Your Way

 

