When my mother was alive she was fond of saying, “keep your chin up,” if I happen to share with her the trouble or worry “du jour.”  Usually, I would make a joke of it and say, “If I do that I’ll stumble over a rock!” We would share a smile, or groan.

The challenges for me today, are to confront my problems without feelings of doubt and inadequacy. The lawsuit filed against me has me thinking trouble follows me no matter what. Emily Dickinson’s “’Tis little I – could care for Pearls -” reaffirms my belief that I am doing what I should be doing with my life. This little poem is a gilt-edge affirmation of the miracle of individuality.

‘Tis little I – could care for Pearls –
Who own the Ample sea –
Or Brooches – when the Emperor –
With Rubies – pelteth me –

Or Gold – who am the Prince of Mines –
Or Diamonds – when have I
A Diadem to fit a Dome –
Continual opon me –

It is such a temptation to feel hopelessness in the face of seemingly overwhelming odds these days by the necessity to “play lawyer” for myself. (I am being sued.)  The poem whispers that I “…own the Ample sea – / Or Brooches – when the Emperor – / With Rubies – pelts me – ”.

With the exception of one lawyer, I have received demoralizing advice about the legal circumstances I find myself in. But, I won’t cave in. “’Tis little I could care…/ for Diamonds – when have I / A Diadem to fit a Dome -”.

It feels like the underlying passion in the poem is compassion. Enough to free me to evaluate what I am doing, in my own terms. The poem embodies a determination to decide a course that is my own, not someone else’s. My life, my diadem, if you will, fits my head alone and it is “Continual opon me -”.

Digest A Poem A Day – Accept What Comes Your Way

